The museum is governed by a trust board that meets bi-monthly and is chaired by Helen Brown.

The board structure includes a representative of:

  • the Thacker family;
  • manawhenua, Ngāti Huikai;
  • Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu;
  • Christchurch City Council;
  • Banks Peninsula representative who also chairs the museum’s Kahui Korowai (advisory committee).

Most of the museum’s projects are carried out by museum staff with volunteer labour. Specialists skills are brought in on a contract basis.

The museum is also served by a Patron, a longstanding former board member, Nigel Hampton QC, and by the Kāhui Korowai, a special advisory group of volunteers who provide invaluable advice and support to the board.